Winter

I was always very skeptical about haiku. Haiku is a form of traditional Japanese poetry. A haiku poem consists of only three lines that almost never rhyme. Haikus are based on nature and more commonly seasons in nature. They are meant to convey the essence of an experience or feeling.

So you may ask, what is so great about a poem which does not rhyme and that has only three lines. Well, I was asking that same question. A poem with three lines that do not rhyme, how can that make sense ? Take a look at a haiku by Matsuo Basho:
old pond
a frog jumps into
the sound of water
The Japs must really be high on sake when they wrote that.

And it so happened that when I was browsing vidya, our inhouse digital library and I found a reference to a photography site by Ray Rasmussen. Now I did not go through all the links there. All I did was go to the page that said “Haiku – Spring photography”. It took me to a nice and simple page. At the center was a nice and simple photograph of a small branch with some leaves. Under the photograph, neatly printed in white were three lines:
my spring is just this:
a single bamboo shoot
a willow branch
– Issa

My, how that changes things. Suddenly I am painfully aware of my blindness.

And then I started walking back to my hostel and I found this:

Winter
Frost this morning and
a cold wind, scatters leaves like
broken promises
– Charles de Lint

4 Comments »

  1. sajith said

    Professor Shivan doesn’t know HTML! The secret is out! Nyahahaha.

    See tinywords. I too would love to see Japan someday, btw.

  2. stuntmanshiv said

    Its that stupid BlogDesk. Such a pain to write and post in that. And to think that I changed to wordpress all because I needed a decent blog client.
    Looks ok now. Slightly changed the post though.

    Tinywords.com
    I click with much thanks
    You made my day

  3. sajith said

    You know, you should have tried logjam/semagic/drivel/deepest sender etc, back then.

  4. stuntmanshiv said

    Was woking with drivel and blogtk. Then blogger changed its API and nothing was working fine as it used to.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

